Japan Fest Atlanta

Japan Fest is an annual event here in Atlanta that is meant to bring an understanding among and build a friendship between Japanese and Americans. It is held at the end of September every year in the Gwinnett Civic Center located in Lawrenceville, Georgia.

Beginning in 2007, I visited Japan Fest for the first time. This was a full two years before I visited Japan itself. It was such a fun event that I would like to document the experience here in hopes that others might choose to attend Japan Fest as well.

This year, the festival is on Saturday, September 21st (10am-6pm), and Sunday, September 22nd (10am-5pm) and is located at 6400 Sugarloaf Parkway | Duluth GA 30097 as usual.

Many different performances/acts are available for enjoyment at Japan Fest, and they change every year. In order to get the most up-to-date information, you must visit their website, linked to above.

In 2007, I attended for the first time with a friend and my little sister.

Image

I had a great time watching all of the performances, including: concerts inside the convention center, ikebana (the art of flower arranging), witnessing my first tea ceremony and all of its strict rules, and seeing ninjutsu performed in front of my eyes for the first time.

I enjoyed it enough to return in 2008.

Image

And this time, enjoyed a real rock concert, rather than only the traditional side of things!

Image
ImageImage

Once again, in 2009, before visiting Japan itself in December, I decided to visit Japan Fest once more in September and enjoyed even more activities, including trying on a kimono for the first time, and witnessing the crazy invention known as the Japanese toilet. (If you have not seen these toilets, I recommend viewing them. They’re some of the most sophisticated toilets in the world!)

Image

Here is a youtube video demonstrating the Japanese toilet, by Ken Cannon:

If you have a chance to visit Japan Fest, you can even buy your own Japanese-style toilet and have it installed in your home! However, it is still very expensive in America.

Tickets are only $8, and kids six years and under get in free. It’s a great chance to get a taste of Japan before going to the real thing!

8 thoughts on “Japan Fest Atlanta

  1. Haha this is so great! It sounds like JapanFest is a pretty fun time. I bet Japan was even more fun! I’m glad you’ve added the study abroad info in a previous post. Japan is surely on my list of places to go! 🙂

  2. I had no idea they had such a festival in Duluth! It looks like a whole bunch of fun. I had heard about those technologically advance toilets and I know some people are pretty skeptical of them but I think they are so neat! (Even if it take a while for American’s to get used to it).
    I really want to go this year just because your post makes it sound so great!

  3. This is really neat (and right around the corner from my house). I can’t wait to see the post about your travels to Japan—this festival seems really awesome but I want to see photos and hear your experience from the real country! Looking forward to it!

  4. I have never heard of a Japan Fest in Atlanta, but it sounds fun and interesting. I’m curious about Asian cultures, and this seems like something I would visit. I think you can add more description about this event, and I would definitely read it. My cousin has been to Japan several times and says he wants to live there. Japan is a unique country, and I would want to see more of its uniqueness on this page.

  5. This really sounds good. I love learning about other cultures and festivals. I hope in the future your blog educate me more on the culture and events to come. This festival seems great and I will attend to learn more. Thanks

  6. That is pretty cool to see. I have also been to some Japan Fest events and they are always really fun. Of course, I haven’t been lately, but your post may just guide me back into the swing of things. Getting to Japan from Atlanta is pretty tough, so tough that I haven’t gone. Knowing people that have been a few times is one thing for me, but someday it would be nice to venture off the east coast myself. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

